Light for a Village of Seekers . You. Me. Us.

The Sojourner in the Desert

Lord, will You quench my thirst?

If you find yourself deep in the middle of midnight, and you have used your last match to give you light to view your compass, only to discover you are in the middle of a desert wasteland filled with dry dead bones and poisonous scorpions, take heart.

You are not alone. You are not really lost.

You lack nothing that the Lord of Lords cannot supply to calm your fears, quench your thirst, or satisfy your hunger.

You are not nowhere. You are smack dab in the middle of His will, and your wandering was forged by Him to create a direct pathway to His heart.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV).”

Welcome weary, parched sojourner. Father God has been waiting a long time for you to arrive here. You were never orphaned.

Go ahead! Accept His cup of cold, clear living water. Let go of all you carried with you to this place, heavy-ladened with your treasures – the things that made you feel safe, and discard them at His feet.

Lord, does my pain have purpose in Your plan?

Now that you have come to the end of your resources, you are properly equipped for the rest of the journey, to accept His.

Take His hand, dear one, as He leads you onward into the future He planned for you all along. Don’t be afraid. He knows where you are to go next. Move forward.

He will not abandon you. Ever.

When I think about my pain, I think of You, Lord.
When I think about Your pain, I think of mine.
Then I realize that without Your pain,
I would have not survived my own.
Your pain, made mine, make sense.
I am grateful You loved me that much.
___________________________________________________________________________
“Carried Me” Artist: Jeremy Camp


___________________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

